The Bogong Wharf in Stanley has a history of more than a hundred years. It is still being transported commercially after its reconstruction. Its traffic volume is not large. On the contrary, it has become a tourist attraction. From it, the scenery of Stanley is very beautiful. There are also many boats docking in the waters beside it, which are very beautiful.
The former Pier of Bugong is located at the end of Bidajie. The pier was rebuilt in 1900. The opening ceremony was officially named Blake Pier by the twelfth Governor of Hong Kong, Buli. At the request of members of the Legislative Council, the government built temporary straw roofs in 1903. However, due to prolonged disrepair, the government introduced steel roofs from Britain in 1909. At that time, the global technology of steel structure engineering was still in its infancy. The design, production and installation of the whole steel structure engineering were introduced from Britain, which was the first one in Hong Kong to adopt low-carbon steel knots. Component buildings.
The Bugong pier near the Merry Tower is connected by a trestle and extends to the sea. The predecessor of Bugong Wharf is Bidao Wharf. It was once an open-air Wharf at the Central Trade Square, but it was later equipped with a steel roof. In 2006, Bugong Wharf was rebuilt next to today's Merrill Building. Now on Saturdays and Sundays, there are ferry boats to and from Putai Island, which is also a small island suitable for hiking in Hong Kong.
A pier in front of the Merry Tower has become a viewing platform. You can sit and watch people fishing and some people use the oldest method to fish groupers. The scenery is picturesque. Many foreigners do not have shopping groups. It feels like the backyard of Hong Kong people.
It's five minutes'walk from the Stanley Market to Stanley Street. Bugong Wharf is a 19th century ancient British architecture, moving from Central to Stanley. It's designed like a "Harry Potter" station, and it's very distinctive. Stanley has mountains and seas and shopping, I like it very much!
The Hong Kong government has taken great pains to protect the old buildings. Bugong Pier used to be a boarding place for important visitors to Hong Kong, such as the Governor of Hong Kong, in Bidajie Street, Central. Later, it gave way to the newly built Central Star Pier. The cast iron truss on the top of the Bugong wharf was moved to the park to be used as the roof of the pavilion. Until 2007, the Stanley Beach Improvement Project rebuilt the Bugong wharf and moved back the original roof. So when you come to Bugong pier, don't forget to look up at the pavilion and the lights, which are really old things.
Stanley is quite a tourist spot, but the area is beautiful with its unique architecture. You can see more of British side of Hong Kong than Chinese side. It located on a peninsula on the southeastern part of Hong Kong Island. the British made Stanley the temporary administrative centre, before moving it to the newly founded Victoria City.
Merry Tower comes out, next to Blake Pier at Stanley. The pier is very small, only ferry to Putai Island, one round trip a day. The latter is an offshore island in southeastern Hong Kong. It is said that there are fewer than 100 residents and there is no electricity or water supply. However, this dock has its origins. The original Bugong dock was built in 1920, and its original site is near the Central Trade Plaza. The top cover is made of cast iron, which is considered to be a historical building today (Hong Kong's recognition of "historical building" is different from ours. What happened decades ago is even a historical building). After several rolls of the top cover, it was moved to the Stanley wharf, which is why it is also known as the Stanley Bugong wharf.