Top Things to do In Lianyungang 2021

Filter

Recommended

Lianyungang things to do in 504
Sort by:
Recommended
View on Map
Selected Filters:
Religious Sites
Bixiasi

Bixiasi

4.6/516 Reviews
"Temple"
想象总是可以带着他穿越时空
"Bixia Temple in the Red Dust has gone through the vicissitudes of life The original name of Bixia Temple was Bixia Palace (commonly known as Grandmother Temple). It is located at the foot of Baihu Mountain outside Xinnanmen in Haizhou. It is a Taoist temple dedicated to Bixia Empress. The Bixia Palace was built in the first year of Taiding in Yuan Dynasty (1324), and was later destroyed by soldiers and abandoned for many years. From Chongzhen to Shunzhi in Qing Dynasty at the end of Ming Dynasty, it was rebuilt many times and abolished for many years. During the Chongzhen reign of the late Ming Dynasty, the monk Shouji (Haizhou folk surname Zhu) had a profound knowledge of Buddhism. He took his disciple Yanfeng to live in the ruined temple at the original site. At that time, Ren Sanqi, the prefect of Haizhou, praised his strict precepts and gave him a plaque of "Tathagata Zhengguo". Bixia Temple is the seat of the Baihushan Temple Fair on the eighth day of April in Haizhou. Every year at the Buddhist Dharma Meeting, Bixia Temple is famous for its gathering of merchants. A stele of "Dengyoutianji" preserved in the temple was carved in March in the sixth year of Shunzhi in the Qing Dynasty (1649) and recorded the unprecedented grand occasion of the temple fair named after Baihu Mountain. In 1949, Bixia Palace became a temporary barracks for paratroopers from the uprising company. Around 1954, an iron company was set up and ovens were built to make farm tools. The monks were forced to return home. After that, the grinding wheel factory was stationed. Except for the middle and rear halls, most of the buildings were demolished, and the firing workshop, kiln and bittern were expanded on the western hillside. In 1978, the reform and opening up implemented the religious policy, the Bixia Palace was rebuilt, and the grinding wheel factory moved out. In 1993, it was officially renamed "Bixia Temple". The Bixia Temple was rebuilt in 2000, basically maintaining the architectural style and style of the late Ming and early Qing. Along the central axis of the mountain gate to the north, there are a nave, an apse, and east-west side halls. In 2005, the new 18-meter-high Daxiong Hall with a construction area of 520 square meters was completed, and the entire temple including the third Buddha and the eighteen arhats were newly built. Shanmen was completed and opened in 2007. There are more than ten resident monks in the temple. Every morning and evening, various Buddhist activities are held, attracting good men and women and many tourists. Among them, the Daxiong Hall, the main structure adopts multi-colored bucket arches and Xieshan double eaves, the middle of the temple is dedicated to the sandalwood wood carving of the third Buddha, the whole body is gilded, and it is majestic and majestic. In the hall, there is a tea-filled half-toga Arhat with a cast iron gold body, which has a history of more than 300 years."